Skip to main content
European Commission logo
IP Helpdesk
General publications

Administrative Actions in South-East Asia


Publication date
1 December 2021
European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency
Publication type
  • IP Guide


South-East Asia consists of 10 countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. As most countries in South-East Asia have adopted international treaties and conventions related to intellectual property rights (IPR), the general IPR principles applied across the region are largely consistent. However, as IPR are territorial in nature, and because there are some variations in the implementation of these IPR principles in each country, the IPR enforcement framework across South-East Asia differs from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. The IPR enforcement options available in South-East Asia can be divided into five main categories. When enforcing their IPR in the region, EU SMEs should consider the most appropriate option available based on the specific circumstances.


Administrative Actions in South-East Asia