Skip to main content
European Commission logo
IP Helpdesk
News article10 June 2024European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency1 min read

Uruguay's Chamber of Deputies approves the country's accession to the PCT

On 4 June, Uruguay's Chamber of Deputies unanimously approved the country's accession to the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT). Once ratified by the Senate, the treaty will be submitted to the World Intellectual Property Organisation.

The PCT allows applicants to file a single application for protection in multiple countries, significantly streamlining the process and reducing costs. It currently has 157 contracting states, including Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru.

To further explore this topic, we invite you to read our blog: Uruguay and the PCT: A strategic step towards global patent protection.



Publication date
10 June 2024
European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency