Skip to main content
European Commission logo
IP Helpdesk
News article11 January 20221 min read

SMEs are initial awardee category in new WIPO Global Awards

In a bid to strengthen recognition of exceptional enterprises and individuals using intellectual property (IP), the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) has launched a new global awards programme. The WIPO Global Awards will be awarded to WIPO Member States each year going forward, with a first award to be granted in July 2022.

The first award will be granted to five small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), followed in subsequent years by other groups, like women and youth. A panel of judges with diverse backgrounds in IP, innovation and business will evaluate the self-nominated candidates.

The winners will participate in an official awards ceremony during the meetings of the WIPO Assemblies in mid-July 2022 and will receive a personalised mentorship program to help them to use IP for business growth, as well as other forms of support and sponsorship that will facilitate their access to funding and business growth.

Submissions to the Award programme can be send in now.



Publication date
11 January 2022