Skip to main content
European Commission logo
IP Helpdesk
News article26 July 2022

Mexico joins Beijing treaty on Audiovisual Performances

Latin America

Mexico has just ratified the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances, becoming the 47th contracting party. The Treaty will enter into force in Mexico on 7 October 2022.

8 Latin American countries (Chile, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama, and Peru) are now members of the Treaty. Colombia, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua have already signed it.

It grants performers four kinds of economic rights for their performances fixed in audiovisual fixations, such as motion pictures: (i) the right of reproduction; (ii) the right of distribution; (iii) the right of rental; and (iv) the right of making available. Would you like to know more? To read more, please refer to WIPO's website.

To read more, please refer to the WIPO Website.


Publication date
26 July 2022