Skip to main content
European Commission logo
IP Helpdesk
News article2 December 2023European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency1 min read

European Commission Announces iCapital Awards 2023: Lisbon and Linköping

Supported by the European Innovation Council (EIC) under Horizon Europe, the prestigious European Capital of Innovation Awards, also known as iCapital, acknowledges cities with inclusive innovation ecosystems. This award recognizes cities that effectively link citizens with academia, businesses, and the public sector, translating outcomes into enhanced societal well-being while simultaneously driving transformative innovation.

European Commission has recently revealed the winners of the European Capital of Innovation Awards (iCapital), with the main prizes going to the cities of Lisbon and Linköping.

Moreover, the 1st and 2nd runners up have been also announced as follows:

The European Capital of Innovation category:

  • Lisbon (Portugal) - winner
  • Warsaw (Poland) - 1st runner up
  • Lviv (Ukraine) – 2nd runner up

The European Rising Innovative city category:

  • Linköping (Sweden) - winner
  • Padova (Italy) – 1st runner up
  • Cork (Ireland) – 2nd runner up




Publication date
2 December 2023
European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency