Skip to main content
European Commission logo
IP Helpdesk
News article9 October 2023European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency1 min read

EC Announces: European Capital of Innovation Awards (iCapital) 2023 Finalists

The European Capital of Innovation Awards, often referred to as iCapital, is now in its ninth edition and is supported by the European Innovation Council (EIC) under Horizon Europe. These awards acknowledge cities with inclusive innovation ecosystems, highlighting cities that effectively link citizens with academia, businesses, and the public sector to translate innovations into tangible improvements in society's well-being while also fostering groundbreaking innovation.

The Commission has recently announced the six finalists for the iCapital. These cities are in the running to be named the European Capital of Innovation or the European Rising Innovative City for 2023. The high-level juries of independent experts have selected six finalists for this year's categories:

The European Capital of Innovation:

  • Lisbon (Portugal)
  • Lviv (Ukraine)
  • Warsaw (Poland)

The European Rising Innovative city:

  • Cork (Ireland)
  • Linköping (Sweden)
  • Padova (Italy)

One winner and two runners-up will be awarded in each prize category at the award ceremony on 27 November 2023, in Marseille (France) which was the winner of the European Capital of Innovation Awards 2022.



Publication date
9 October 2023
European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency