Skip to main content
European Commission logo
IP Helpdesk
News article16 November 2020

Costa Rica enters the Beijing Treaty

Latin America

The Republic of Costa Rica has just ratified the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances. The Treaty will enter into force in Costa Rica on 13 February 2021.

4 Latin American countries (Chile, Dominican Republic, El Salvador and Peru) are already members of the Treaty. Colombia, Costa Rica (new), Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico and Nicaragua have already signed it.

The Beijing Treaty aims to harmonize the legal protection given to those performers (including interpreters and performers) whose work deserves Intellectual Property Protection according to the different National Laws and International Treaties.

Thanks to this Treaty, the beneficiaries' performers will get five kinds of exclusive economic rights fixed in an audiovisual format: The rights of reproduction, distribution, rental, making available and broadcasting and communication to the public.

To read more, please refer to WIPO's website.


Publication date
16 November 2020